Legendary Wine Industry Personalities Lauded

Veritas 2009 top performers reveal the secrets of their success
October 15, 2009
2010 Veritas Entries now open for Wine and Brandy
September 5, 2010

Legendary Wine Industry Personalities Lauded

During a board meeting of the South African National Wine Show Association (SANWSA) Norma Ratcliffe, Gunther Brözel, Spatz Sperling and Dr Julius Lazslo were handed specially designed commemorative scrolls. They were among the list of twenty eight legends, including retired renowned wine makers and viticulturists, prominent industry leaders, wine writers, wine ambassadors and wine personalities, who were recently commended during the annual Veritas Awards ceremony, but who were not able to attend the Veritas dinner in October.

“These men and women are true industry icons, “says Duimpie Bayly, SANWSA chairman. “They have either been instrumental in creating world class wines or have guided the industry through their sheer fervour and vision.” The SANWSA is one of the driving forces behind the 350 Years of Wine celebrations and custodians of the annual Veritas Awards.

Another six influential industry leaders will be receiving their scrolls at a later opportunity: Phyllis Hands, Dr Jacob Deist, Hennie Hëyl, John Platter, Dawid Saayman and Tim Hamilton-Russell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *