The judging system for Veritas has been described as one of the most thorough in the industry.  Judging panels are representative of the entire wine industry and include winemakers, distillers, researchers, academics and merchants and are compiled in collaboration with the relevant cultivar work groups.

All the judges are required to have a wine judging certificate from the University of Stellenbosch, a Cape Wine Masters Diploma or a similar accreditation. International judges with vast experience in judging are invited to join the panels and to share their knowledge to award the best wines and brandies. Wines and brandies are tasted blind by panels that consist of five experts judging 10 wines at a time. Scores are awarded according to the international 100-point scale, without discussion. A Double Gold medal is awarded through a consensus decision by the panel if the wine/brandy scores 90 or more out of 100. Gold is awarded when a wine/brandy notches-up 86 to 89,9 points, a silver sticker will go on a bottle of wine/brandy if the wine scored 80 yo 85,9 points, while bronze medals go to wines/brandies that scored 75 to 79,9 points. The integrity of Veritas’ judges is undisputable and the whole judging process is audited through independent auditors.


Dry White (1)Dry White(2)Chenin BlancSauvignon BlancChardonnayNLH, SLH, Natural Sweet White
Pieter Carstens
Olivia Poonah
Lorraine Geldenhuys
Hermias Hugo
Ivan Oertle
Christo Pienaar
Bussell Retief
Tania Kleintjes
Brendan Butler
Tom Blok
Dewald Huisamen
Albertus Louw
Jacques Erasmus
Lizelle Gerber
Jacqui Henderson
Michael Franz(USA)
Nicolaas Rust
RJ Botha

Ivy du Toit
Anton Swarts
Tersina Shieh (Hong Kong)
Johann de Wet
Izéle van Blerk
Frans Smit

Jo Wessels(Germany)

Rianco van Rooyen
Altus le Roux
Brenda Thiart
Anthony Kock
Dave Marsh
Dry RedBordeaux Blend MerlotCabernet SauvignonPinotageShirazOther Red Cultivars
Susan Erasmus
Tinnie Momberg
Klaas Stoffberg
Raymond Noppé
Hattingh de Villiers
Wilhelm Pienaar
Johann Fourie
De Bruyn Steenkamp
Jeanne-Mari de Villiers
Luke O’Cuinneagain
Yvonne Lester
Johnnie Calitz
Martin Moore
Francois Cillié
Cornea Cilliers
Bertho vd Westhuizen
Morne Vrey
Johan Jordaan
Catherine Dillon
Joe Wadsack (UK)
De Wet Viljoen
Francois van Niekerk
Danielle le Roux
Andries Blake
Jo Wessels (Germany)
Alecia Boshoff
Kobie Viljoen
Andy Roediger
Janno Briers-Louw
Christine Austin (UK)
Charles Hopkins
Michael Crossley
Brendan Butler
Heidi Kritzinger
Michael Franz (USA)


Pinot NoirPortDesert WineSparkling WineMuseumBrandy
Anton Swarts
Anita Streicher-Nel
Lizette Tolken
Karin Visser
Christine Austin (UK)
Christine Rudman
Colin Frith
Raymond Noppé
Winnie Bowman
Joe Wadsack (UK)
André Scriven
Henri Swiegers
Nico Grundling
Melissa Rhode
David Biggs
Pieter Ferreira
Heidi Duminy
Elunda Basson
Johan Malan
Melanie van der Merwe
Bennie Howard
Duimpie Bayly
Pierre Marais
Tersina Shieh
Michael Franz (USA)
Winnie Bowman
Lizette Tolken
Raymond Noppe
Karin Visser
Joe Wadsack (UK)
For COVID-19 updates, visit the official government website www.sacoronavirus.co.za
Got it!